June Marcus Bonna cases are coming soonish. Order now for a custom MB case delivered in September.
Woodwind Design carbon stands are in stock

The Well-Tempered Brass Quintet Vol. III by J. S. Bach, tr. by David Baldwin, pub. Trigram


Item Details

J.S. Bach's 'The Well-Tempered Clavier' transcribed by David Baldwin for Brass Quintet - 2 trumpets, horn, trombone and tuba.

The Well-Tempered Clavier, BWV 846–893, is a collection of two series of Preludes and Fugues in all major and minor keys, composed for solo keyboard by Johann Sebastian Bach.
Musically, the structural regularities of the Well-Tempered Clavier encompass an extraordinarily wide range of styles, more so than most pieces in the literature.   The preludes are formally free, although many of them exhibit typical Baroque melodic forms, often coupled to an extended free coda (e.g. Book I preludes in C minor, D major, and B-flat major).  The preludes are also notable for their odd or irregular numbers of measures, in terms of both the phrases and the total number of measures in a given prelude.
Each fugue is marked with the number of voices, from two to five.  Most are three- and four-voiced fugues, and there are only two five-voiced (BWV 849 and 867) fugues and one two-voiced (BWV 855).  The fugues employ a full range of contrapuntal devices (fugal exposition, thematic inversion, stretto, etc.), but are generally more compact than Bach's fugues for organ. 

More from this collection

  • Visa
  • MasterCard
  • PayPal