New Alexander 103 double horns in stock.

Ars ex Spiritu for Brass Quintet by John Anthony Lennon, pub. Cherry


Item Details

A majestic Fanfare for large Brass Ensemble by Professor John Anthony Lennon of Emory College. The Fanfare is a six minute work for moderately advanced performers in the following instrumentation: 6 Trumpets in C, 4 Horns, 3 Trombones, Tuba, Timpani & Bass Drum.

Here are the composer's words about the Fanfare.

"This music was commissioned for the inauguration of James W. Wagner, nineteenth president of Emory University. It was premiered on the quadrangle of the campus in Atlanta on April 2, 2004. Ars ex Spiritu - art from the spirit - plays on the Latin meaning of spiritus, the translation meaning a blowing of the wind. The music for brass and percussion is a festive and celebratory work meant to summon the joy of creating music together."

Reared in Mill Valley, California, Lennon earned a liberal arts degree at the University of San Francisco, and holds a master's degree and doctorate from the University of Michigan where he studied with Leslie Bassett and William Albright and William Bolcom.

Lennon is published by E.C. Schirmer, C.F. Peters, Dorn, Mel Bay, Columbia University and Oxford University Presses. Recordings are with, Bridge Records, Capstone, Open Loop, MMC, Innova and Albany Records.


More from this collection

  • Visa
  • MasterCard
  • PayPal